ANSS at AAA Annual Meeting

Greetings ANSS members! As the ACRL liaison to the American Anthropological Association (AAA), I am exploring additional ways to reach out to ANSS membership and decided to make use of the ANSS blog to generate conversation. I am currently headed to the AAA Annual Meeting which is taking place over the next few days in Washington, DC. There, I will continue my outreach and engagement efforts to connect ACRL, ANSS, and AAA. I have a schedule full of interesting presentations and meetings which are primarily related to student learning, scholarly communication, and academic society publishing.

If you are attending the AAA meeting and would like to get together, please let me know! Comment on this post or drop me a line: juliann.couture@colorado.edu. I am excited to be part of a roundtable session, Anthropological Knowledge: Access, Creation and Dissemination in the Digital Age, taking place on Saturday, December 6th from 11am-12:45pm. During this session, Richard Freeman (a fellow ANSSer), Tim Elfenbein managing editor of Cultural Anthropology, Matt Thompson from Savage Minds, and I will explore various aspects of the dissemination of anthropological knowledge in the digital age. The session will be moderated by Donna Lanclos and we look forward to having an engaging conversation about open access, author rights, institutional repositories, and more. If you will be at the conference, please join us! For those of you not able to attend, be on the lookout for an update from me post-AAA Annual Meeting.

In the interest of my participation in AAA serving the ANSS membership, what would you like to know about from my time at the annual meeting? Are you interested in overarching research trends in anthropology? Want to know what publishers, particularly small presses, were in attendance? Comment on the post or email me and let me know what you are most interested in learning about from my time at the conference. For those of you on twitter, be sure to follow @anss_acrl where I’ll be sending out updates from the meeting.

Juliann Couture

ACRL Liaison to AAA

 

This entry was posted in AAA Liaison, Liaison Reports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.